Most of the time, DUI cases that occur in Georgia are treated as a misdemeanor. When the charge also includes the serious injury or death of another party though, you could be charged with a felony.
Felony DUIs are very serious, and you do not want to undergo this type of defense without a great attorney by your side. When facing these charges, your entire life is at stake, so you need to have the best and most experienced attorneys working for you. Atlanta DUI lawyers Thomas, Webb, & Wills are dedicated and passionate, as well as experienced, and we will fight hard for you. We understand that this is a devastating and emotional time for everyone involved. Get in touch with us today so we can go over your case and start to help you.
In Georgia, Serious Injury by Vehicle is defined as “causing bodily harm to another by depriving him a member of his body, by rendering a member of his body useless, by disfiguring his body or a member thereof, or by causing organic brain damage, which renders the body or any member thereof useless.” The jury will determine whether the injury is “serious” and whether it falls under these guidelines. The law does not require that the prosecutors need to prove malicious intent.
If you are charged with a felony, you could be facing up to 15 years in prison, even if the person injured was a passenger in your vehicle. The implications of being charged with a felony and going to prison can be very frightening. You can’t fight this type of case alone. You need to have someone on your side who understands the law and who knows how to build a defense for you.
Homicide by Vehicle, or Vehicular Homicide, refers to killing someone when a vehicle is involved. These cases are always serious and always very emotional. When driving under the influence is a factor, it can seem almost impossible to see a way out of the predicament.
Like Serious Injury by Vehicle, malice and intent do not need to be proven in these cases. Those who face this felony charge can actually experience a number of criminal penalties, and they could case up to 15 years in prison – even more if they are a habitual offender. When drugs or alcohol are involved in the accident, law enforcement will generally believe that it was the main factor in causing the death.
In Georgia, there are two degrees of vehicular homicide. First Degree Vehicular Homicide is punishable by three to 15 years in prison with the possible addition of fines. Second Degree Vehicular Homicide is punishable by imprisonment for up to a year, as well as a fine of up to $1,000. The former is a felony, while the latter is defined as a misdemeanor. Both of these charges can be very serious. You can’t face these types of cases on your own. That’s why you need the expertise and help from the lawyers at Thomas, Webb & Willis, LLC. They have the knowledge to help you with your case. To speak with one of our attorneys, call 404-250-1113 to setup a free consultation.