DUI LAWS AND PENALTIES FOR RESIDENTS IN GEORGIA

Whether this is your first arrest for DUI or your third, you need to know what penalties you’re facing. DUI Laws and penalties differ from state to state. If you reside in the state of Georgia, the following laws and penalties apply to you.

THE STATE OF GEORGIA CAN CONVICT A PERSON OF DUI IN TWO WAYS:

  • By showing that you, the driver, had a 0.08 grams or more blood alcohol concentration within three hours, during or after, driving or otherwise being in control of a vehicle (per se)
  • By proving that you, the driver, had alcohol and/or other intoxicants that caused dangerous driving.

FOR A FIRST DUI CONVICTION IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA

  • Up to $1,000.00 fine
  • 10 Days to 1 Year in Jail
  • DUI School
  • 40 Hours of Community Service
  • 1 Year Probation
  • 1 Year License Suspension

FOR A SECOND DUI CONVICTION IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA

  • Up to $1,000.00 Fine
  • 90 Days to 1 Year in Jail
  • DUI School
  • 30 Days of Community Service
  • Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and/or Treatment
  • Up to 1 Year Probation
  • Three-Year Loss of License
  • Ignition Interlock Device

FOR A THIRD DUI CONVICTION IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA

  • Fine up To $5,000.00
  • 120 Days to a Year in Jail
  • 30 Days Community Service
  • Alcohol Evaluation and/or Treatment
  • Up to 1 Year Probation
  • Five-Year License Revocation
  • Ignition Interlock Device

FOR A FOURTH CONVICTION

  • Fine of $5,000.00
  • One to Five Years in State Prison

While these are some of the most common penalties for a DUI in the state of Georgia, the judge may add further penalties. Loss of job, heavier fines and longer sentences could be thrown your way, too. Obtaining an experienced DUI defense attorney can help you avoid a lot of personal misery. Call the law office of Thomas, Webb & Willis today at 404-250-1113 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced DUI lawyer at Thomas, Webb & Willis, LLC.

Call now for a free consultation (404) 250-1113