3rd Time DUI Attorneys In Atlanta, GA
If you are suspected of driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia, you can be arrested and will likely face serious criminal charges. If you already have two convictions on your record, DUI law in Georgia allows for substantially increased penalties if you are again convicted for a 3rd time. Because of the severe consequences that may be imposed, anyone facing multiple DUI charges should seek call a 3rd DUI defense attorney as soon as they can to discuss your case.
Defense For a 3rd DUI in Atlanta
In order to have a successful defense for a third DUI, you must make sure you have an attorney on your side who understands the nature of multiple DUI charges and can present any possible legal defense. In order to convict you of a 3rd DUI, a prosecutor must prove the following beyond a reasonable doubt:
- You have two previous convictions for DUI on your record; and
- You were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of the police stop.
Driving under the influence can mean that your ability to operate your vehicle was impaired or that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was higher than 0.08 percent (or less for underage or commercial drivers). Prosecutors often use the results of field sobriety tests or Breathalyzer tests to prove your impairment and/or BAC. Fortunately, there are many ways a skilled DUI defense lawyer can challenge the prosecutor’s evidence and fight against your charges.
Penalties Increase For a 3rd DUI
A 3rd DUI is considered to be a “high and aggravated” misdemeanor in Georgia and, therefore, carries increased potential penalties than a regular misdemeanor conviction. If you are convicted under 3rd DUI laws, you could be sentenced to the following:
- Mandatory 15 days served in jail;
- Potential jail sentence of 120 days to one year;
- 30 days or more of community service;
- Pay fines from $1,000 to $5,000;
- Have your driver’s license suspended for five years;
- Have two years before you can apply for a hardship (restricted) license;
- Have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle if you receive your license back;
- 12 months or more of probation;
- Mandatory alcohol evaluation and treatment;
- Completion of an alcohol education program; and
- Publication of your photo as a DUI offender in the newspaper.
Not only can you face the above court-ordered penalties, but a conviction on your record can affect many different areas of your life including your profession, your reputation, and your family relationships. In addition, if you then receive another DUI charge in the future, you can be charged with felony DUI in Georgia.
Consult With a 3rd DUI Defense Law Firm In Atlanta, GA Today
If you have been arrested for DUI and you have previous convictions on your record, you should call (404) 250-1113 for 3rd DUI defense help as soon as possible. At the law firm of Thomas, Webb and Willis, LLC, we have successfully provided Atlanta DUI help for numerous clients and can help seek the most favorable result possible in your case.