Question: What Is An ALS Hearing & Why Is It Important In Georgia?
Answer: An ALS hearing is an Administrative License Suspension hearing. Georgia will suspend your license if you blow over a .08 or if you refuse the breath test. You have ten business days to request a hearing, or your license will automatically be suspended. The length of suspension varies anywhere from 30 days to a full year. Some people are eligible for limited permits during that suspension and other people are not. So if you don’t send the letter and get the hearing procedure started, then you’re putting yourself in the position to be suspended for up to a year with no permit to drive. So, it’s a very important process. Once you send the letter a hearing will be scheduled within 30 to 45 days. An Administrative Law judge will conduct the hearing, and they will determine whether they are going to suspend your driver’s license or not. You have to send in $150 dollars with your request for a hearing. There are no fines or fees after the hearing if you lose it, but they will take your driver’s license.