Question: Will A Person Charged With A First Offense DUI Usually Go Back To Jail In Georgia?
Answer: Yes. If somebody starts with a first offense DUI, it again depends on the judge and depends on the courts. The law requires 24 hours for a first offender if you are convicted of DUI or plead to DUI. Some judges will not make you go back for those 24 hours. They’ll pretend like the amount of time you spent in jail before you bonded out was 24 hours. Other jurisdictions are going to make you go back for those 24 hours, and other jurisdictions will actually give you more than 24 hours, depending on the facts of the case. There’s one circuit in Georgia that if you are a first offense DUI and you took the breath test, you’ll go to jail for three days on a first. If you refused the breath test, you’ll go to jail for seven days on a first. So again, knowing the judge and knowing the jurisdiction is very important for answering that question.