Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/thomaswillis/public_html/wp-includes/post-template.php on line 316

DUI Schools in Atlanta Georgia

Every person convicted of a DUI in the state of Georgia is required to complete DUI School. The official name for DUI School is the DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction Course. Before the Georgia Department of Driver Services can reinstate your driver’s license, you must show them that you have completed this program.

Below is a map of DUI schools in the Atlanta Metropolitan area. This program must be completed in person, and cannot be completed online. The total cost to attend DUI school is $355. It is against Georgia law for a DDS-approved school to charge more.

When selecting a DUI school, you should always make sure that your school is approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS). If your school is not approved, you will not receive credit for completing the course.

Structure of the DUI School Program

DUI School can usually be finished in less than a week. The program is broken up into two separate components: the Assessment and the Intervention.

  • To complete the Assessment component you must finish a 130-question survey that will ask you questions about your alcohol and drug use and also about your driving. This test will help you and the staff at the DUI School better understand your specific situation and how best to help you.
  • The Intervention component is more time-consuming than the Assessment because it is comprised of 20 hours of classroom session. These sessions include educational instruction, group discussion, and counseling. All 20 hours must be completed, and they must be completed in person, if you want to receive your certificate of completion.

We generally recommend that you enroll in DUI School and complete the program before your DUI trial. This program is required for every person convicted of DUI, and it’s usually a better idea to get it out of the way in case you are convicted. Once you have a DUI conviction, you will no longer be able to drive, which can complicate transportation to and from class sessions.

Completing the program early will also show you are taking the arrest seriously and may help us negotiate for a lesser charge or a lesser punishment. In addition, getting this done before trial will help you quickly get your driver’s license reinstated, so that you can begin driving again and get back to work as soon as possible.

Back to Top