Top 3 FAQs We Get When Consulting Drug Charge Cases

Atlanta drug laws are some of the most complicated laws there are. With the number of drug schedules and variety of charges that could be applied in any one case, it is very easy to be overwhelmed in a drug charge case. This is why you need the experience and assistance of the attorneys at Thomas, Webb & Willis, LLC. The attorneys at Thomas, Webb & Willis, LLC will provide you with drug charge help in Atlanta. Of all the representation the firm does, many clients almost always ask the same three questions in regards to their drug charges.

First: What Can I Be Charged with?

Many clients want to know exactly what they are being charged with. Many of these offenses can be narrowed down to a few categories. Those include, but are not limited to:

  1. Possession;
  2. Purchase;
  3. Manufacture;
  4. Distribution; and
  5. Sale of controlled substances or marijuana.

All of these charges can be found in Georgia code 16-13-30. These charges relate to both marijuana and controlled substances. Controlled substances themselves are divided up into different categories called “schedules.” Schedule I substances include things like heroin, molly, and ecstasy. Schedule II substances are drugs like methamphetamine and cocaine. In addition to these two, there are three additional schedules of drugs covered by law. Marijuana is treated separately from these schedules and contains its own definition in Georgia Code 16-13-21(16). These are just a few of many charges you might be facing, each with their own unique penalties. This isn’t to say you can’t be charged with more than one crime. 13 WMAZ News recently reported on a drug bust in Macon, GA. The individuals arrested were allegedly transporting methamphetamine to Atlanta. They will likely face charges related to transportation, possession, and distribution of a schedule II substance.

Second: What Types of Penalties Could I Be Facing?

The penalties you could face all depend on the crime(s) you are charged with. For example, if you are in possession of less than one ounce of marijuana you could be charged with a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine of $1,000. However, if you are charged with possession of more than one ounce of marijuana you could be facing a felony charge punishable by up to ten years in prison. This small distinction in Atlanta drug law could make a big difference for the punishment you might be faced with. The possession of a schedule I or II substance could be punished by up to 30 years in prison. All of these penalties can be found in Georgia code 16-13-30.

Third: What Should I Do After Getting Arrested?

After getting arrested your best option is to contact a licensed Atlanta drug law attorney. Attorneys experienced with drug laws will be able to assess your case. If you need help in Atlanta with your drug charges you should contact the law offices of Thomas, Webb & Willis, LLC. The attorneys will know what kinds of punishments you could be facing with your specific charges, and how best to assist you going forward. Call today to get help with your drug charges.

Blog Post Provided By:

Thomas & Willis, LLC

750 Hammond Drive, Suite 5-100
Atlanta, Georgia 30328

Phone: (404) 250-1113

FURTHER READING

What Is An Atlanta Administrative License Suspension?

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Atlanta, Georgia, you will likely be facing an administrative license suspension (ALS). the same way as DUI cases involving alcohol.

What To Expect From A 3rd or 4th DUI Offense

If you are unlucky enough to have either three or four DUI convictions, then you already know that the consequences of consecutive DUIs increase dramatically.

What Are The Most Important Things To Know About Forfeiture Laws In Georgia?

Many people are surprised to learn that their property can be forfeited if they are suspected of engaging in criminal activity such as drug sales of other drug crimes.

What Happens When You Refuse A Sobriety Test In Georgia?

If you are pulled over on the suspicion of driving under the influence, the officer will ask you to perform field sobriety tests and to take a preliminary breath test. turn the stop into a DUI investigation.

Back to Top